Search Me, Lord

“You have searched me, Lord, and you know me… Before a word is on my tongue you, Lord, know it completely.”    ~Psalm 139

     The idea of God’s omnipotence on a personal level as intimate as is described in the verse above is…scary at first. I run on the assumption that my affairs are my own–that my best and worst thoughts are known only to me. Perhaps I share a bit of vulnerability with close friends, but I present my best side to the public.

     Then comes God. He is familiar with every thought before I even think it! I feel ashamed and afraid when I consider that my sin and selfishness is laid bare before a perfect and just God. But as I meditate on this passage, the fear and shame melts away and I feel at peace.

     There is an indescribable comfort in the fact that God knows me. He knows my flaws and He still thought I was worthy of incredible sacrifice. I can turn to Him at any time and I don’t have to explain myself because HE KNOWS. He is the best confidante, adviser, and King in the universe and he makes himself available to the lowly through humble prayer and supplication.

     So I pray verses 23 and 24:

Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

One Reply to “Search Me, Lord”

Leave a Reply

