Followership

While I’m often placed in leadership roles by default when no one else steps up, I resonate deeply with the idea of good followership. In most cases, I would rather have someone else ~ a good leader ~ in the official role while I do my best to be a support and an enabler.

A classic example of this followership role, and one I aspire to emulate, is the Proverbs 31 woman. In this case, the leader is the husband, who we know sits with the elders of the land and is known by people. The woman is neither idle, nor a mindless follower of her successful spouse, but rather a leader in her own right as an industrious homemaker and woman of God.

If we test her against Latour and Rast’s (2004) follower competency chart, I imagine we would find her to be a prime example of a competent leader-follower. After all, she is loyal to her family, functions well as a team-member, thinks independently, and is her own type of leader.

_________

Update 4/26/17:
Over the course of the leadership minor, I have developed my confidence as a leader. Today, I embrace official leadership roles and feel prepared to deal with whatever situation might arise. Previously, I could only manage a follower role because I had a tendency to over-commit. As a college senior, my time management skills and ability to set realistic expectations for myself have significantly improved.

It’s exciting to re-read my first post within the leadership minor and to realize just how much I’ve learned.

_________

References

  1. Komives, S. R., Lucas, N., & McMahon, T. R. (2009). Exploring leadership: For college students who want to make a difference. John Wiley & Sons.
Leave a Reply

